World Series Most Valuable Player Award

The Willie Mays World Series Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award is given to the player deemed to have the maximum impact on his team’s performance in the World Series, that is the last round of the main League Baseball (MLB) postseason. The award was first introduced in 1955 as the SPORT Magazine Award, but is decided during the final match of the Series by a committee of reporters and officials present in the game. On September 29, 2017, it had been renamed in honor of Willie Mays at remembrance of their 63rd anniversary of The Catch. Mays never won himself.
Pitchers have been named Series MVP twenty-seven times; four of these were relief . Twelve of those first fourteen World Series MVPs were won by pitchers; from 1969 until 1986, the ratio of pitcher MVPs diminished –Rollie Fingers (1974) and Bret Saberhagen (1985) were the only two championships to win the award in this age. From 1987 until 1991, all the World Series MVPs were pitchers, and, since 1995, pitchers have won the award twice. Bobby Richardson of the 1960 New York Yankees is the only player in World Series history to be named MVP despite being on the losing group.
The most recent winner was Steve Pearce of the Boston Red Sox, who won the award in 2018.